My Oom Se Motor…

I tweeted the lyrics to this song last week Thursday and was overwhelmed by how many people replied with the rest of the lyrics and also enjoyed the nostalgia of it all. This song was one of my favourites as a kid (yeah, i didn’t get out much)… and it still holds a special place in my heart. I would be lying if i said that i didn’t get a lump in my throat every time i hear this song. I had a Oom who lived on a farm and i feel like i get transported back to Uniondale every time i hear it…

*SPOILER ALERT* Her Oom dies at the end of the song?! After all his troubles with the bank and the drought! So typical of Afrikaans literature, it’s always so bladdy morbid.

Seeing as my blog is basically just a collection of stuff i find cool or weird, i thought it should have a permanent place here.

Laurika Rauch – Stuur Groete Aan Mannetjies Roux

I swear, nostalgia will be the death of me.

Leave a Reply

