Old School Laughs

You know the times when you laugh so hard, you end up crying, or you’ve gone full spaz and no noise can escape your mouth… where your cheeks start aching and you can’t breathe? Well, this video will make you do all of the above.

You might not remember it, but there was a time when Leon Schuster was KAK funny. In South Africa in the early 90’s, we didn’t have much to watch on TV, so Oom Leon’s older movies from the 80’s were played over and over again. And i didn’t mind one bit!

I was searching Youtube to try and find a couple of his stunts to show my Yorkshireman, so that i could share with him some classic old school SA comedy at its best. I found this cracker, one of my favourite stunts, and i don’t think we stopped laughing for a good 30min afterwards. I think it’s funnier if you understand the Afrikaans, but even if you don’t, apparently it’s still pretty hilarious.

I would also just like to say, 90’s South Africa was super cringeworthy. SO KOMMEN.

Leon Schuster at the Hyperama (who remembers those?!) in Mitchell’s Plain:

And a few more you might enjoy:

PS: If you have ANY idea where i can get my hands on a copy of his older movies, PLEASE let me know! I am desperately looking for any of the classics; There’s a Zulu On My Stoep, Oh Schuks – It’s Schuster, Oh Shuks – It’s Untag, Panic Mechanic, You Must Be Joking 1 & 2 🙂

One thought on “Old School Laughs

  1. Pingback: ZET! | Kiss & Tell

Leave a Reply

