Lent Lenter Lentiest

Lent, the 40 days leading up to Easter Sunday. Today, February 22 is Ash Wednesday thus beginning the “Lenten Season”. Believers, the faithful, (and more recently hipsters and those that latch onto trends) spend this time fasting or maybe giving up some form of excess/luxury/indulgence. Why? Well, in my opinion, it’s a brilliant excuse to take a step back and evaluate your life… cut out anything that you feel might have started to control you. Traditionally, Lent is a time of penitence… Wikipedia has a pretty thorough article if you’re really interested.

Most people opt to give up food items like chocolate, coffee, meat, sugar, or take-away food, others focus on more personal “vices” like swearing or procrastination or a Twilight obsession.

Unlike the, I fear, vast majority tweeting about what they’re going to give up for Lent… I am actually Anglican. I’ve been giving something up for Lent for as long as I can remember. I’ve done it all – swearing (rather unsuccessfully), chips (even more unsuccessfully), fizzy cooldrinks, etc. This year I’ve decided to do Lent with a difference.

I’ve never been one to colour inside the lines, and I feel like this is the year that I stop trying to reign myself in and just be who I damn well please.Β I’ve learned a lot about myself in the past few months, and I feel like there isn’t much that I can/should “take away” from my life right now. I have no addictions and don’t really do much in excess, except swear… I’m very sweary, but I like it and don’t really think Jesus minds too much either πŸ˜‰

So this year, rather that giving something up, I’m going to add something to my own life and hopefully to a couple of other people too, it might be small… but it’s something. Over the next 40 days I plan on sending a postcard everyday to someone different that I care about, telling them just that – that I care about them.

I’ve lost both an Uncle and a friend to suicide in the last month and it’s affected me more than i’d like to admit. It’s a terrible way to learn a lesson, but I’ve got to take something away from it all, for my own sanity.

So far, what I know now is that you really should never wait to tell someone how you feel about them. I’m not even talking about in a romantic sense… even friends. If you care about someone in your life, tell them, don’t assume that they know… you’ll be surprised how many people feel unloved.

I also know that we need to be less proud. Less proud, so that we can admit defeat and ask for help when we need it… and less proud so that those friends who need our help actually feel like they can ask us.

Enough of that, for now πŸ˜‰ I’ve got a list to make… 40 people that I care about. It shouldn’t be too hard.

I’m going to try and post a pic of the postcard and the message on the back for every one of the 40 days. I am the worlds best (worst?) procrastinator, so forgive me if I’m a day or two late with the blogposts.

I’d like to end off by saying, I love you, and if I don’t know you… then I PROMISE you that there is someone (or a whole lot of someones) who does/do.

Happy Lenting πŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on “Lent Lenter Lentiest

  1. I Like this BIIIIIGGGG Time!! I am almost 40 days too late, but this really affected me.

    I like your take on lent being more than just giving up things that have got a hold on you, things you crave, or do too much. I have been in a bad space for a while now, even though on the outside, other people and even me think everything is just hunky dory (not sure how to actually use that).

    Without making this a long story, which I tend to do sometime. I am going to start my 40 days off right now. I am going to stop drinking, (I find myself doing that a little bit too much nowadays) for many reasons, also going to be as nice as I can to my family, and let them know everyday that I love them. I think that alone is a challenge even just to remember so I will keep whatever else I wana stop or change for my next 40 days.

    Thanks Steff, and even though you didnt accept my friendship on VleisBook (haha, this is probably why) I will still keep reading your blog. (not just for topless tuesday)

    (using brackets because I saw you did and found it quite fun)

    Ok, now i’m done πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

